South America has actually 12 sovepower states; only Bolithrough and Paraguay are are landlocked. Of the 12 countries of South America, 2 are landlocked: Bolivia and also Paraguay. Interestingly, both countries have actually a navy despite not having a sea border. Boliby means of did not start out landlocked, but rather shed land also as soon as in war through Chile.

You are watching: Two landlocked countries in south america

Landlocked Countries Of South America

A landlocked country is a nation that is totally bordered by land and has actually no accessibility to marine water bodies. South America has actually 12 sovepower says and of the 12, only two are landlocked: Bolivia and Paraguay. Bolithrough and also Paraguay are the just landlocked countries exterior the Afro-Eurasian plate, which is made up of Asia, Africa, and Europe.

Boliby means of, 1,083,300 Km2

Map of Boliby means of.
Boliusing is located in the western-central part of South America. The funding city of Boliusing is Sucre. However before, the seat of the federal government is situated in La Paz. Boliby means of, at 1,083,300 km2, is the biggest landlocked country in South America. The nation is bordered by Brazil to the north and also to the east, Paraguay to the southeast, Argentina to the southern, Peru to the northwest, and Chile to the southwest.

At first, Boliusing was not landlocked. It had a coastline alengthy the Pacific Ocean. However before, throughout the War of the Pacific that was combated in between 1879 and 1883, Boliusing lost its shore to Chile. On March 23 of yearly, Bolivians celebprice "The Day of the Sea" to commemorate their shed coastline and their sea access. It is rather intriguing that Boliby means of, even after ending up being landlocked, still has a navy. It provides Lake Titicaca for its naval training.

A Treaty of Peace and Friendship was signed between Chile and also Bolivia after Boliby means of kept insisting that it be given accessibility to the sea. Chile thereafter constructed a railway that would certainly allow the Bolivians to accessibility the sea with ease.

Paraguay, 397,300 Km2

Map of Paraguay.  The Republic of Paraguay is located in central South America. Since of its centrality in South America, it is often referred to as the "Heart of South America." It has a complete area of 397,300 km2. Paraguay is the smallest landlocked nation in the Americas. It is bordered to the south and also to the southwest by Argentina, to the east and to the northeast by Brazil, and to the northwest by Bolivia.

Similar to Bolithrough, Paraguay, despite being landlocked, still has actually a navy bereason it can access the Atlantic Ocean through the Paraguay–Paraná Rivers.

How Many Countries In South America Are Landlocked?

See more: Def In The Other Side Or On The Other Side, On/At The Other End?

CountryLand Area (km2)PopulationSurrounding Countries
Bolivia1,083,30011,673,021Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Peru
Paraguay397,3007,132,538Argentina, Boliby means of, Brazil